First day of school, Austrian style - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu First day of school, Austrian style - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu

First day of school, Austrian style

Door: Daphne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Daphne

20 Oktober 2014 | Oostenrijk, Wenen

Pfff.... the alarm clock went off at 6:30 in the morning and with my hanging face I started dressing myself for my first day of school. It's monday, the weekend is over and my real internship starts. Very exited, but exhausted too, I start my day with some breakfast and at 7:15, Christine and I cycled to the school. We arrived at the school, I introduced myself to the other teachers. They are all very nice, but not every teacher over there is a bilingual teacher. I got linked to Andrea's class. She comes from Austria but she is very good at English. The class she teaches contains out of 25 children who do all speak at least English and most of them speak German as well. Most subjects are being taught in English but there are also some classes for the Austrian children in German. Then, the class will be divided into two groups ( German and English, I will join the English class too) and the English children will be taught (something in) English from Anitha, a native speaker. I like to see how cleverly the teacher are making the division between German and English. It's nice to see that I can help Andrea :)

I also attended two classes of Anitha, the English teacher. That was also an interesting to do because I witnessed how little children were taught about the letter 'p' (say -puh-) in English. After that lesson they got Religion from Christine. Christine told me that most of her lessons were in German so I decided to skip that and to stay in Anitha's class. She had to teach the second class and I could see the differences in language skills, compared to the first class, right away. Two of ' my' children didn't have to go to religion and could stay in Anitha's class, so I decided to sit with them. They were doing some homework on the letter -puh- and I drew a painting for one of the children. In respond to that, he drew me a drawing which I had to colour in (see pictures, I'm sure you'll recognize it).
I had to introduce myself to the children from the second class and they got to ask me all kinds of questions. After that, they had to write at least five sentences about their weekend and out of the blue, I became their dictionairy... I got to read all their sentences and they all started with 'on the weekend I ...' This was funny to read but I could tell the inprovement they made in comparison with the first class' children.

After all, it was a nice day to start with. I really like the children and I enjoy seeing so many different cultures and characteristics in one class at such a young age! :)
Now I'm sitting here next to Christine, who is preparing for 'letter day', something I will find out tomorrow, writing my blog. And... In just a few hours I will see 'the Common Linnets' :) -whoop whoop-

20-10-2014


  • 22 Oktober 2014 - 14:31

    Hanneke Moors:

    How were the Common Linnets? Good to read that you are not only doing fun things like colouring in beautiful drawings at the school, but in the evenings as well.

  • 22 Oktober 2014 - 16:29

    Daphne Moors:

    The Common Linnets were awesome :) Ilse really enjoys performing on stage, which was very nice to see

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Daphne

Actief sinds 15 Okt. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 281
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4693

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Oktober 2014 - 01 November 2014

Internship in Austria

Landen bezocht: