Message from Vienna - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu Message from Vienna - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu

Message from Vienna

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Daphne

19 Oktober 2014 | Oostenrijk, Wenen

Friday evening, Hans picked me up from the airport and together we drove to his house. My flight went perfectly, better than expected, since it was my first flight on my own and just second flight in general. When I arrived a my hostfamily' (Hans, Christine, Rika and Pieter) house, I said everyone hello and we took something to drink while we chatted for a while. I knew my hostfamily already before I got here. They are friends of ours and we have already spent 7 hollidays together, so I didn't have to introduce myself to them. Not that there was any time to do so because it was already 11 pm when I got there.
The mext morning I had to get up early because Christine was having some volentary work planned and I decided to join her. I really like the charity' aim : a group of volenteers is standing in from of the local supermarkets, including a bunch of children. They are informing the supermarket visitors about the charity and they are asking them to bring some extra rice, flour of pasta with them. They collect all the food and at the end of the day, we'd approximately 70 boxes full of sustainable products. They are spreat over all kinds of people who are on the edge of getting back into society, they've for example just found a new job, but at the end of the month, there is no money left to provide themselves with enough food. The supermarkts here in Vienna give away lots of food to these kinds of people. Food which is at its expiration date, but sustainable products like rise and pasta isn't given. Therefore, this food-raising charity. There was also a possibility to cut out some pumkins, in Halloween theme, for little children and I got to help with that. It gave me a nice feeling to do something for others, but on the same time I was a bit struggeling with it since these children speak German only... But at the end, it all went fine :)
In the afternoon they showed me a small, nearby shoppingcenter. Their dishwasher broke so I got some me time to check out some shops while they looked for a new dishwasher, which was pretty nice.
The evening was the best of all, THEY TOOK ME TO PASSENGER!!! I really liked his show. I didn't know that many songs, only his big hits, but that didn't matter. This guy has such an amazing charisma and his performance was absolutely ' wunderbar'! He stood there, on his own, no band, but I didn't feel like there was anything missing. Nothing could make this show any better than it already was!
After that, we went for a quick snack at a chinese restaurant where I, for the first time, ate some dumplings and these tasted delicious.

Today was a typical lazy sunday :) I was able to sleep in late and when I woke up, I decided to read a book in bed. Then I ate some breakfast, which could have been my lunch, if I waited for another hour...
In the afternoon, Hans and Christine took me to the Leopolds berg, which gave me an amazing panorama view (see pictures) and they told me some interesting features about Vienna, for example: Donau island, car 2 go and a bunch of other small, funny detailes. We walked down through some wineyards which was absolutly beautiful when lit with the sunlight. And now I am sitting her, behind their desk writing my blog.

The past few days have been very nice already but my internship hasn't really started yet. Tomorrow I will go to the internation school where the real work will start. I am so exited and curious about the way Austrian school function, and how such an internation school functions as well.
Tomorrow evening will be great as well, I'm going to the Common linnets!
I am so lucky to have a hostfamily like this, they take me everywhere and they inform me about Vienna and other cultures and habits.
I haven't really used my amazing language skills yet, these will be put to practice tomorrow, but I have learned and seen quiet a lot already which is also think is very important and fun.

19-10-2014

  • 19 Oktober 2014 - 21:28

    Mereltjee:


  • 19 Oktober 2014 - 22:33

    Katja Storm:

    Hoi Daphne! Klinkt allemaal heel erg goed, je verblijf in Wenen. Hoop dat je het op de internationale school ook erg naar je zin gaat hebben, maar dat zal wel, toch? Zeker met je amazing language skills, hahaha! Goed voor je Duits ook ;) Veel plezier, benieuwd naar de rest van je weken! Groeten, Katja Storm

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Daphne

Actief sinds 15 Okt. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 256
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4703

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Oktober 2014 - 01 November 2014

Internship in Austria

Landen bezocht: