Internship: check. - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu Internship: check. - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Daphne Moors - WaarBenJij.nu

Internship: check.

Door: Daphne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Daphne

29 Oktober 2014 | Oostenrijk, Wenen

Tuesday started as an ordinary letter day (They learned a new letter and they will use this letter a lot during the first two hours by doing all kind of activities in different stations with this letter. Eg. They have to write the small and the capital letter in the sand or write it on the blackboard). I had to take care of the most fun station: EGG AND SPONE RACE! (Attention: this is very educational because 'egg' starts with an e, this week's letter.) They really liked it and so I thought it would be a fun thing to film. I started filming them all, but there wasn't one couple that didn't drop the egg...So I chose the one that was the least terrible and I posted that :) The art station was very nice as well, they had to cut out an elephant and give it a 3D-belly (picture will clearify). Again, very educational!!!
A little project of mine this week is to teach some children to speak a bit of Dutch. Mission accomplished, (girl A) can could to 10 in Dutch, like you can see in one of my video's.
I had to bike home by myself and when I arrived at the house, I was home alone. This was also nice, for once, because I had some 'me-time'. I put up some music and started reading my book, which I btw finished today :)

The children are very lucky, because thurstday and friday are 'studiedagen', but that means that today was my last day with them. Christine came up with a nice idea to end my internship, baking waffles :) Christine didn't have any classes till 11 am, so she woke up early this morning to make the waffledough, which was so nice of her! I settle myself and my waffleiron and some decoration sprinkles in a smaller room next to the classroom. I explained them something about the waffle and told some funny stories, but I also mentioned that this was the end of my internship and that I would leave the class. Their faces turned sad instantly and dialogues like this were created: 'Where do you go?' - 'Back home, in the Netherlands.' -'Aaah, ok. And when are you coming back?' -'Well, I'm not coming back...' -'So, you will never come back..?'
It was very sad to see their hanging faces like that, but I could make them smile again with some tasty waffles :)
Because Halloween is coming up and because it was the last day of school this week, 'my' class watched a Winnie the Pooh movie in Halloween theme. (I posted a picture a them while watching, just because I really enjoyed their facial expressions. Judge for yourself ;p ) Since today was 'no-hard-learning-day', they could make some scary spiders. Some children are really creative and know how to execute all the steps but others were a bit struggling with that. Not that that mattered, they gave me something to do so that was nice :)
A thing I really wanted was a group picture with me, all the children and Andrea. It took some time to get them all quiet and to make them picture proof. But I think that the pictures turned out very nice, especially the crazy one! After that the children could go to their horts and I got to say goodbye to Andrea. We shook hands and kissed each other on the cheeks. 3 times, in the Netherlands! She gave me a small present and a lovely little letter. Anitha left a bit earlier so we got to say goodbye earlier that day.

Christine and I decided to quickly go to the city center. She had already told me about the fact that Vienna is very beautiful and old and that one can walk into every building when the door is open. The most wonderful places are hid behind these doors and it seems to be even more beautiful in summer or spring.

About Vienna:
Vienna is very different from other big cities I know about. Vienna is nothing more than a small village that escalated a bit... Christine told me about the 'Beserlparken' when we walked past one. Vienna is a crowded city with many trams and U-bahn stations, therefore there aren't so many places which are filled with trees and bushes. A Beserlpark is a small park that lies in between these high buildings and tramstations. (Beserlpark means that the park is so small that one could clean it by hand). These parks are very important to the residents and , therefore, used a lot.

She also showed me some small intimate spots in Vienna. Such as a little terras, covered with trees. A few years ago, the local committee wanted to replace this place with a high tower, a museum and a very big library. But the people of Vienna didn't want this to happen and it didn't. The museum has been built but the tower wasn't, just as the library. The library has been built on top of the U-bahn station and now is Vienna's biggest library. The stairs that reach the building are filled with when the weather is fine. This again shows how amazing and actually Vienna is!
(I've also added a picture of a building which is partly black, partly white. This is due to all the carbodioxide produced by cars. They renovated a part of the building yet but they haven't renovated it completely. This gives a very nice 'Bild'.)

There is one last thing I would like to talk about: the fact that Vienna is so childfriendly! Christine and I walked past a special art exhibition for children. They even put up some special 'bags' that can be put down. The fabric will flatten and will the the same size of the rugs (which you can see in one of my pictures). All schoolchildren can put their schoolbags on this circle and the machine pulls them up again. In this way, the schoolbags are collected at one place and they can certainly not be stolen.
This amazing art exhibion lies across a special child-theather. A theather with plays for children only and children can even play along in some performances.

One word: amazing

29-10-2014

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Daphne

Actief sinds 15 Okt. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 210
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4675

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Oktober 2014 - 01 November 2014

Internship in Austria

Landen bezocht: